There are thousands of dog breeds throughout the world, some feared and considered dangerous. So before you adopt or purchase a dog for your family, be sure it isn’t on this list of banned dogs in Minnesota.
While there is no federal law that prohibits anyone from owning any type of breed, Minnesota does have laws against the breed of dog you can own. As for cities and counties within Minnesota, you’ll need to check with their laws (and bylaws). For now, we’ll list the Minnesota dog laws so that you aren’t heartbroken when having to give up a dog that may not be allowed in your locale.
Our research into the topic of banned dogs shows that Minnesota cities and counties are prohibited from adopting ordinances regulating dangerous or potentially dangerous dogs based solely on the breed of the dog. There is really no clear indication of what “breed” is being mentioned as a dangerous dog, but the next section of the Minnesota Statutes includes information about registration and a hefty dog licensing fees.
Banned Dogs and Registration in Minnesota
347.51 DANGEROUS DOGS; REGISTRATION.
No person may own a dangerous dog in this state unless the dog is registered as provided in this section.
An animal control authority shall issue a certificate of registration to the owner of a dangerous dog if the owner presents sufficient evidence that:
(1) a proper enclosure exists for the dangerous dog and a posting on the premises with a clearly visible warning sign that there is a dangerous dog on the property, including a warning symbol to inform children;
(2) a surety bond issued by a surety company authorized to conduct business in this state in a form acceptable to the animal control authority in the sum of at least $300,000, payable to any person injured by the dangerous dog, or a policy of liability insurance issued by an insurance company authorized to conduct business in this state in the amount of at least $300,000, insuring the owner for any personal injuries inflicted by the dangerous dog;
(3) the owner has paid an annual fee of not more than $500, in addition to any regular dog licensing fees, to obtain a certificate of registration for a dangerous dog under this section; and
(4) the owner has had microchip identification implanted in the dangerous dog as required under section 347.515.
What are your thoughts about the state statutes and what they deem to be a dangerous dog? Follow up in the comments section or share with your social app of choice, we’d love to hear your thoughts on this subject!